Priority and Strategy Council

The Priority & Strategy Council is a decision making body whose members are invested in HSC’s agenda and are empowered to act as champions for HSC. The structure of the Priority & Strategy Council provides a broad forum for discussion of substantive issues that cut across sectors. The role of the Priority & Strategy Council is to establish the priorities and strategic direction for HSC and guide the organization’s advocacy work by identifying new trends and offering ideas for new approaches and suggestions of issues HSC should address. Five people act as liaisons between HSC’s Board and the Priority & Strategy Council and act as advocates for the Priority & Strategy Council in Board discussions, bringing their perspectives into Board deliberations and ensuring their priorities are being carried out faithfully.


Chair: Darren Bloch, Chief Executive Officer, Greenwich House

Vice Chair: Jeannette K. Ruffins, Chief Executive Officer, Homeward NYC

Members of HSC’s Priority and Strategy Council

Melissa Aase, University Settlement Society of New York
Ronald Abad, Community Housing Innovations
R. Nancy Albilal, Arab-American Family Support Center
Stacy Bliagos, HANAC
Carrie Bloss, Heights and Hills
Grace Bonilla, United Way of New York City
Cathy Cramer, Legal Information for Families Today (LIFT)
Kathleen Culhane, Nontraditional Employment for Women
Traci Donnelly, The Child Center of NY
Nathaniel Fields, Urban Resource Institute
David Garza, Henry Street Settlement
Sharon Greenberger, YMCA of Greater New York
Margarita Guzmán, Violence Intervention Program
Christopher Hanway, Jacob A. Riis Neighborhood Settlement House
Kathryn Haslanger, JASA
Jeremy Kaplan, Encore Community Services
Judy Kluger, Sanctuary for Families
Thomas Krever, Member at Large
Maria Lizardo, NMIC
Diane Louard-Michel, Lantern Community Services
Kelsey Louie, The Door
Elizabeth McCarthy, Sheltering Arms
Alan Mucatel, Rising Ground
Mitchell Netburn, Samaritan Daytop Village
Allison Nickerson, LiveOn NY
JoAnne Page, The Fortune Society
Ramon Peguero, The Committee for Hispanic Children and Families
Ron Richter, JCCA
Liz Roberts, Safe Horizon
Denise Rosario, Coalition for Hispanic Family Services
Eric Rosenbaum, Project Renewal
Rita Santelia, Mosholu Montefiore Community Center
Sharon Sewell-Fairman, Workforce Professionals Training Institute
Ann Shalof, Neighborhood Coalition for Shelter
Jaclyn Stoll, Project Hospitality
Udai Tambar, New York Junior Tennis & Learning
Ben Thomases, Queens Community House
Saskia Traill, ExpandED Schools
Catherine Trapani, Homeless Services United
Andre White, Phipps Neighborhoods
Darlene Williams, Opportunities for a Better Tomorrow
Susan Wiviott, The Bridge